Roundtable Membership

The California Planning Roundtable has 34 positions for permanent members, with 28 evenly divided between Northern and Southern California, and the public and private sectors. Four of the remaining positions are reserved for members from academic institutions, and two are for members from agencies of the state or federal governments.

A member who decides to leave the Roundtable after five full years of service is eligible for emeritus status, which allows attendance at Roundtable meetings and participation in projects, but does not include the ability to vote on issues before the membership. The current president of the California Chapter of the American Planning Association also sits on the Roundtable as an ex-officio member.

Current Officers

President : Miguel A. Vazquez, AICP
Past President : William Anderson, FAICP
Treasurer : Laura Stetson, AICP
Vice President, Communications : Richard Rojas, AICP
Vice President, Operations : Alice Chen, AICP
Vice President, Programs : Bernadette Austin
Secretary : Hilary Nixon, Ph.D
APA California Ex-Officio Member : Ashley Atkinson

Current Members

Member Employer Member Since Area/Notes
William Anderson, FAICP
City Economics + Planning
Los Angeles, CA
2008 South/Private
Bernadette Austin UC Davis
2019 North/Private
Vince Bertoni, AICP
Planning Director
City of Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
2006 South/Public
Erik Calloway, AICP
Managing Director
Change Labs
Oakland, CA
2019 North/Private
Alice Chen, AICP
Vice President
Emergent Transportation Concepts
Oakland, CA
2015 North/Private
Ann Cheng Ann Cheng Consultants
2019 North/Private
Coleen Clementson
Principal Regional Planner
San Diego Association of Governments
San Diego, CA
2012 South/Public
Elaine Costello, FAICP
City Planning Consultant
SAN MATEO, CA 1997 North/Public
Jeanette Dinwiddie-Moore, FAICP
Dinwiddie & Associates
Oakland, CA
2011 North/Private
Rudy Espinoza
Executive Director
Inclusive Action
Los Angeles, CA
2020 South/Private
Suzanne Hague, AICP
Sustainable, Equitable Communities & Housing Expert
California Air Resources Board
Sacramento, CA
- State/Federal
Managing Principal
Orange, CA
2012 South/Private
Alex Hinds
Managing Consultant
Center for Sustainable Communities
Rohnert Park, CA
- Academic
Hanson Hom, AICP
Assistant City Manager
City of Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale, CA
2013 North/Public
Julia Lave-Johnston
Director, Education Services
Sacramento, CA
2021 North/Private
Kacey Lizon
Deputy Executive Director, Planning & Programs
Sacramento Area Council of Governments
Sacramento, CA
2016 North/Public
Simran Malhotra, AICP, Assoc. AIA
Raimi + Associates
Los Angeles, CA
2011 South/Private
Hilary Nixon, Ph.D
Professor and Chair
Director of Research and Technology Transfer
San Jose State University / Mineta Transportation Institute
San Jose, CA
2017 Academic
Andrea Ouse, AICP
Director of Community and Economic Development
City of Concord
Concord, CA
2018 North/Public
Mark Rhoades, AICP
Rhoades Planning Group
Berkeley, CA
2011 North/Private
Marc Roberts
City Manager
City of Livermore
Livemore, CA
2014 North/Public
Terry Roberts
Formerly Air Resources Board
Pasadena, CA
2013 State/Federal
Richard Rojas, AICP
Deputy City Manager
City of Norwalk
Norwalk, CA
- South/Public
Tim Snellings, REHS
Director, Department of Development Services (Retired)
Butte County
Oroville, CA
2016 North/Public
Laura Stetson, AICP
Pasadena, CA
2011 South/Private
Linda Tatum, AICP
Director of Development Services Department
Long Beach Development Services
Long Beach, CA
2005 South/Public
Tanisha Taylor
Chief Deputy Director
California Transportation Commission
Sacramento, CA
2016 North/Public
Woodie Tescher
Principal, Planning and Urban Design
Los Angeles, CA
1997 South/Private
Miguel A. Vazquez, AICP
Health Equity Urban Regional Planner
Riverside University Health System - Public Health
Riverside, CA
2011 South/Public
Al Zelinka, FAICP
City Manager
City of Riverside
Riverside, CA
2008 South/Public

Emeritus Members

Member Employer Member Since Status
Alexander Amoroso, AICP
Principal Planner
City of Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
2003 Emeritus
Carol Barrett, FAICP
Formerly, City of Burbank
Retired, formerly Burbank, CA
2012 Emeritus
David Booher, FAICP Davis, CA 1980 Emeritus
Jeffry Carpenter, AICP
Los Angeles, CA 1981 Emeritus
William Claire, AICP Claire Associates
Solvang, CA
1980 Emeritus
Cathy E. Creswell
Sacramento, CA 2002 Emeritus
Linda C. Dalton, PhD, FAICP
Professor Emerita, City and Regional Planning
2002 Emeritus
Thomas Davis, AICP
Former Chief Planning and Development Officer
Prescott, AZ
2012 Emeritus
Susan DeSantis
SDS Associates
Newport Coast, CA
1985 Emeritus
Fred Dock, AICP 2015 Emeritus
David Early, AICP, LEED-AP
Senior Advisor
Berkeley, CA
2000 Emeritus
S. Gail Goldberg, AICP
Executive Director
ULI Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
2003 Emeritus
Wayne Goldberg, AICP 1988 Emeritus
Keith Gurnee Urbadigm
2008 Emeritus
Al Herson, FAICP
Sohagi Law Group
Sacramento, CA
2000 Emeritus
Sharon Hightower Hightower/Associates
Claremont, CA
1997 Emeritus
Thomas Jacobson, JD, MCP, FAICP
Professor, Department of Geography, Environment, and Planning
Sonoma State University
Rohnert Park, CA
2000 Emeritus
Vivian Kahn, FAICP
Associate Principal
Dyett & Bhatia
Oakland, CA
1986 Emeritus
Naphtali Knox, FAICP
APA California Northern News
Palo Alto, CA
1989 Emeritus
Jeffrey Lambert, AICP
Community Development Director
City of Ventura
Ventura, CA
2008 Emeritus
Tony Lashbrook
Town Manager
Town of Truckee
Truckee, CA
2005 Emeritus
Marjorie Macris, FAICP
Mill Valley, CA 1993 Emeritus
Sandra Massa-Lavitt Seal Beach, CA 1999 Emeritus
Michael McCoy
Conservation and Sustainable Communities Policy Advisor
California Strategic Growth Council
Winters, CA
2000 Emeritus
Larry Mintier, FAICP Mintier & Associates
Sacramento, CA
1986 Emeritus
Michael Moore Petaluma, CA 1997 Emeritus
H. Oliver, AICP
Seattle, WA
1980 Emeritus
Steven A. Preston, FAICP
Formerly - City of San Gabriel
1997 Emeritus
James Rojas Alhambra, CA 2006 Emeritus
Marvin D. Roos
Director of Design Development
MSA Consulting, Inc.
Rancho Mirage, CA
2001 Emeritus
Victor Rubin
Vice President for Research
Oakland, CA
2006 Emeritus
Janet Ruggiero, FAICP
De La Salle Institute
1981 Emeritus
David Salazar, AICP
Founder, Executive Director
Long Beach Community Design Center
2001 Emeritus
R. Ann Siracusa, AICP Santee, CA 1995 Emeritus
Joan Sollenberger
Chief, Office of Strategic Development
Division of Traffic Operations
California Department of Transportation
2002 Emeritus
Susan Stoddard, PhD, FAICP
Larkspur, CA
1987 Emeritus
Matthew Taecker, AIA AICP
Planning Manager
Berkeley, CA
2005 Emeritus
Richard Watson, AICP Richard Watson & Associates
Mission Viejo, CA
1980 Emeritus
Mark Winogrond, FAICP
Planmark Associates
Venice, CA
1997 Emeritus

Ex-Officio Member (California Chapter APA President)

Member Employer Member Since Area/Notes
Ashley Atkinson - -